I did it! I finally did it! I put my fears to the side, put faith in myself and did it! What am I talking about? Well…

Writing has been a passion of mine since I was young. In fact, I wrote poems consistently in elementary and middle school, mostly thanks to my Aunt Judy for making me practice and giving me exercises to do to really own my talent. When I was about 11 years old I submitted a poem in a contest for the National Book of Poems and came in 25th out of thousands. 

I’ve written many stories, most lost in piles of unknown items, over the years. A few years ago I wrote a story called The Different Dragonfly. I’m actually pretty proud of this story. My daughter had just turned 2 and she was starting to realize that people were different. The story I wrote is kind of based on that discovery. It’s been years since I have been proud of something I’ve written and now that I have a child I feel fortunate enough to be able to write stories for her and she actually enjoys them!

Why haven’t I done something about this sooner? One word, FEAR. Fear is a pretty strong word when you think about it. It’s a very strong feeling. It can be very debilitating, which it was in my case. The fear of someone not liking your work; the fear someone saying “You aren’t talented enough”; the fear of not succeeding. It took years for me to get over this, and in all honesty I’m not really there, but for my daughter I felt like I HAD to do this. I always tell her that if you work hard enough and are determined enough you can do anything. How can I say that if I don’t do it. At least I can say that I’m trying. If I can’t set the example for her, how can I expect her to do the same when she becomes passionate about something.

994928_10202014908911561_1279026828_n

So…here goes everything. I’m putting those fears aside, putting myself out there and for once putting that faith in myself that I am good enough and talented enough to do this. The first set is out in the mail with more to come this week and the next.

