In my last post I talked about how my child’s teacher told me that my 4 year old wasn’t ready for academics. How she didn’t test very well and wasn’t able to focus. Today, what I learned made me extremely angry and I can fully understand why the teacher feels my daughter doesn’t “test well”.

I received a phone call from the school saying that my daughter was itching like crazy and that they went down to the classroom to check on her. Supposedly she had a rash on her arms, stomach and cheeks and they wanted to know if I had changed detergents which could have caused the rash and itching. Concerned, I drove down to the school to get a look for myself. I figured it was probably the new clothes I bought her for picture day, but always better to be safe than sorry. Thankfully, the rash seemed to disappear before I was able to get there.

When the director of the school let me into the classroom, the teacher said that Emily was currently being tested. I looked around the classroom very confused. How can a child that is easily distracted, you say can’t focus, be tested when she is sitting at a table with the teacher while there are kids playing loudly right behind her, balls bouncing around, kids sitting right next to her eating and coloring? No wonder she doesn’t “test well.” 

Deep breaths mama bear…

Maybe it’s just me, but wouldn’t it make more sense to isolate the child to test them? Especially a child that seems to be distracted easily (which she is, she’s kinda like a cat) and has a hard time focusing. The frustration and anger I feel right now is unbelievable. To me, it’s like they are setting her up for failure. I’m sure it’s unintentional, but still. There is a room off to the side where their classroom supplies are. Wouldn’t it be possible to take 2 chairs into that room to test, or better yet, the numerous amounts of other rooms that aren’t being used? I am just completely baffled right now as to what I saw. I am also very thankful that I was able to see it, just by chance. 

I feel that the parent/teacher conference is going to be VERY interesting, to say the least. 

