This past Saturday, in the wee hours of the morning, my husband’s grandmother passed away peacefully in her sleep at her home. She had been in the hospital for a few weeks and the time limit given by the doctors wasn’t very long. She wanted to go home, she wanted to be comfortable. 

She was a really sweet woman and she lived to the ripe old age of 91, just celebrating her 91st birthday this past December. My daughter loved her and would randomly ask how Grandma Virginia was doing. I haven’t told her yet. She is only four and just the thought of anything dealing with this subject matter terrifies her, which is understandable. It terrifies me and I’m 33. At four, she is able to grasp the concept of it and how frightening the unknown can be. My husband and I are not really sure how to go about telling her. We decided not to have her go to the funeral because, in all honesty, it would be devastating for her. Once that little brain starts thinking and analyses the whole situation it will lead to nights of crying and nightmares, which has happened before. 

I lost my grandmother (Nanie) when I was 26, about a month before my wedding. She was never able to meet my daughter or see me get married for that matter. She was like a second mother to me. I saw her nearly every day. When she passed, that first Christmas without her was the worst. I remember picking my husband’s grandmother up at her home that Christmas Eve to take her to my in-laws house for dinner. Sitting there in the back seat was tough for me and it listening to her tell her stories on the drive made me think so much of my Nanie and it took every ounce of me to hold back my tears. I remember feeling jealous of my husband. I know, very very selfish of me. It’s something I should have never felt, but I couldn’t help it. It took a little time, but I realized, my husband’s grandmother was mine now too. So, I was just as fortunate as he was to still have a grandmother figure around.

The day Grandma Virginia met my daughter and held her in her arms was very special to me.

Image

Em was only about a month and a half when grandma met her. Looking at this pic makes me want to cry. My daughter is very fortunate to have had the chance to know her great grandmother and be old enough now to be able to remember her throughout her life. Not a lot of us are able to say that. 

So in honor of my grandmother, I just wanted to share a few pictures. 

Image

December 2012

Image

December 2013

Rest in Peace sweet Grandma Virginia. You will be truly missed.

