Being a new mom if full of fears. Fears for your child, new fears for yourself. Today, while skimming through my Facebook feed, I was faced with my greatest fear of all.

A high school alumni, that I was fellow classmates with since middle school, had passed away on February 11th from breast cancer. She leaves behind a three year old daughter and a one year old son. Tears streamed down my face. It’s sad to hear about someone you once knew way back when and their untimely death ( my Class hasn’t had the best of luck with such things), and what’s even sadder is that her two young children are to grow up without their mom. Life just doesn’t seem fair sometimes, and this is what terrifies me the most. My greatest fear is to leave my child while she is still young. Seeing this post on my Facebook just heightens this fear.

Not that I plan on dropping dead in the middle of this post, but I am just reminded that we are never promised tomorrow. Too often do we forget this until we are reminded by startling and saddened news. After being reminded of how short and precious life truly is, I vow to hug my daughter a little tighter, hold her hand a little longer, play with her more often, listen closer and tell her I love her more and more each day.

 

If you have time, please check out Ramona’s Memorial page. They are trying to raise an education fund for her two children. 

Remember to tell your loved ones how much they mean to you everyday. And ladies PLEASE get those boobies checked!!!!

