About 4 1/2 years ago,  a month after my daughter was born, we had new windows put into the house. The old windows let in too much heat during the summer and too much cold air during the winter, and with me being a new paranoid mom, the windows had to change. Granted, it wasn’t the easiest of times to have two men trampling through your house and making loud noises while your 1 month old is trying to sleep, but it got done and we were happy, or so we thought.

Fast forward about 3 months. There is a pretty big rain storm that hits the Bay Area. I go into my daughter’s nursery and see a puddle of water on the floor near her window. My first thoughts, damn cat peed on the floor! Why were those my first thoughts? Because he was not happy about us bringing home another small thing, so he started peeing on my husband’s clothes and our bed. He was the baby until my daughter, needless to say he was not a happy guy. Sensitive little man cat. It wasn’t until I started looking around more that I noticed the wall under my daughter’s wall bubbling out. So, like the idiot that I am, I go poke it. Water comes gushing out. We call the window guys, who blame it on the contractors. We call the contractor, he comes out, cocks around the window, DONE.

Between then and now, 3 windows tracks have broken, mold has been growing on the inside of the windows and this past Saturday, after another big rainstorm, water came in from the same spot it did 3 months after the windows were put it. It took 4 days for someone to come out and take a look at them. Of course when you call, the manufacturer blames it on the contractor, the contractor comes and takes a look and tells me “Well this isn’t an installation problem. I remember the wood being pretty well rotted under this window. Your house may be stucco, but it sucks up water and there’s your problem.” I’m sorry sir, but the only thing that sucks around here is you. Correct me if I’m wrong, but if you knew the wall under the window was rotted and you knew this would keep happening, then why did you put the window in? Oh, and another thing. You can’t tell me that there are “mold spores” in the air and they are randomly collecting on my window. Basically, he was telling me that I keep a dirty house. Um, my house isn’t perfect, but it is clean. So…suck it!

So, supposedly the window company will be coming out to fix the 3 broken windows, and as for the leaking window…we are on our own. Yep, that’s right. Actually, he can repair the rotted wall portion for a cost. No thanks dirt bag. I think you’ve done enough for me. Thank goodness for my dad, who is willingly going to look at it and try to fix it. Fun times, fun times. Let’s just hope that the rain lets up for a little while so everything can dry out and get repaired. No one told me that owning a home would be so much fun. 😉

