I wouldn’t say I’m the best cook in the world. I’ve been known to burn things (quite a lot of things actually) from time to time. But with all my cooking, I haven’t killed anyone yet…so…that’s a positive, right? So let me spread a little bit of my kitchen knowledge with you and use with caution. 😉

 

1. If you don’t like spicy stuff and your dish calls for 1 tsp of red pepper flakes, don’t use 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. 

2. Make sure you know the difference between 1 tsp and 1 tbs, there is a difference. A BIG ONE! (For those who don’t know, the teaspoon “tsp” is the smaller one)

3. Turn on your cooking devices before you leave the house to run errands or go to work. Yeah, like Mama Kat, I put chicken in the crockpot and forgot to turn it on. Take-out anyone?

4. Vegetables (especially green onions and asparagus) turn slimy and disgusting after a week in the fridge. There are many times where I have gagged with this one.

5. Scrap burnt stuff off the bottom of your oven before turning it on! Yeah, my hubs thought I started a fire. Totally looked like one and the house had that nice charred smell.

6. Make sure your fingers are out of the way when you are using sharp knives. That was a painful lesson.

7. Never ever ever use water to try to put out a grease fire! I did this when I was a teenager at my parents house while they were gone. Fire=putting out with water, right? Yeah, not in this situation. I didn’t, however, burn the house down. So, positive on that one, even though my parents didn’t see it that way.

 

This was a writing prompt inspired by:

Mama Kat

Head on over and see what you can write about!

