It’s May 4th, may the 4th be with you all! (If you’ve never seen Star Wars, then you won’t understand that. Although, it is all over Facebook and Twitter today.) Time to link up with the lovely Mel and Michele, the Ketchup With Us hostesses. The prompt is simple. You can either:

A) Set a timer for 10 minutes and see what spills out of your brain.

B) Link up any old blog post

Pretty simple, right? If you’ve got a chance, go ahead and link up something yourself! It happens the 1st and 15th of every month. I’ve even made it easy for you. Simply click on their names above and you will go right to their blogs where you link up your post. No excuses! Go on over and link up!

So, for this post, I decided to do the 10 minute brain drain. I even came prepared with a YouTube link and everything. You lucky people you.

In about a week I get to go visit my happy place…DISNEYLAND!!!!!! Oh how I adore this spot! I’ve been going there since I was about 6 years old and lucky for us, we live about 6 hours away (driving time that is). Now that I have a little one that adores princesses and fairies, daddy is suckered into taking us. He actually enjoys it now. When we went there on our honeymoon his words to me were, “yeah, this is fun, but I can’t see myself doing this every year. Maybe every five years or so.” Seriously? Who did I marry? Just for that comment, I took him on Hollywood Tower of Terror. Take that! He doesn’t like rides like this and he threatened to kill me after he got off. Totally worth it though. Tell ME you’ll maybe go every 5 years!

This will be my daughter’s 4th going. My parents took us every summer vacation and I wanted to try to do the same for her, or at least as long as she enjoys it. With the cost of it all now, that may not be completely possible, but we’ll try.

This time around, I’m starting to learn that my daughter is a little dare devil. She’s actually tall enough to go on ALL the rides (and where this height came from I don’t have a clue, I’m lucky I pass to get on the rides), and she WANTS to go on ALL the rides. She’s been talking about the Matterhorn non-stop. I fear this ride may scare the crap out of her, but if she truly wants to go on it…I guess we’ll try. She also wants to take the plunge down Splash Mountain (my favorite ride). Almost made me want to shed a tear; she’s like her mama. YAY!!!!! At least there is one thing that she inherited from me.

Thinking about Disneyland also makes me think about the Modern Family episode where they go to the Happiest Place on Earth. In some ways, Em is a lot like Lily. “We’ve got a runner!” 

 

I’m ashamed to say it, but we did…ONCE…try the “child tether”. Ok, yeah, it’s a leash. I understand both the weird stares, like we are just the worst parents ever putting a child on a leash, and the fact of needing to take such measures. I use to be one of those parents that looked at the people “walking” their children, but when you have a runner and magician like I do, I totally get it. I sympathize with those individuals now. Kids don’t want to hold your hand the ENTIRE time, nor do they want to stay in their strollers. They want to be free, feel a little bit of independence and they want to chase after those damn people in the chipmunk costumes. And if your child is anything like the social butterfly mine is, they want to run off with their new friends. Yeah, I have a story of me running after my little munchkin when we got off the carousel because she wanted to hold hands with her new friend. Let me tell you, when you are caring a few extra pounds, like I am, weaving in and out of people while chasing your then quick like lightning 3 year old is a task. They don’t understand that it’s dangerous. They don’t understand the mass amounts of people there and how hard it would be to find them if they did get lost. This time, thanks to Jay, I may have to employ one of his tactics.

At least the shoes slow them down. Wish me luck y’all. 

 

 

 

