I feel I can share things with y’all. So here is a pretty random moment that happened to me just a bit ago that brought back a REALLY old memory. 

Usually, I like to listen to music while I am showering. Music relaxes me, no matter what kind it is. If there is music playing, I’m usually pretty happy and content. So tonight, my Slacker Radio was playing some pretty decent music when this little gem popped up. Who can’t remember these guys or this song…

Holy crap! I totally forgot John Stamos was in this video! Does this man not age? Not like I mind, but I digress.

So this song came on and I immediately started laughing. Why? Let’s take a trip back in time, shall we? I was in 5th grade. My school required you to be in choir. So we were rehearsing some songs and our choir teacher, Ms. Fable, decided to teach us a new song that we were going to sing at an upcoming recital. What was this song? Yep, Kokomo by the Beach Boys. Now mind you I was 9, maybe 10, at the time. To us, this was some dumb, old song our teacher was trying to make us sing. We had no idea what it meant, nor did me care. The choir was split into boys on one side, girls on the other and when it came to the chorus it went like this:

Girls: Aruba, Jamaica, ooh, I wanna take you
Boys: To Bermuda, Bahama come on pretty mama
Girls: Key Largo, Montego, baby, why don’t we go?

Girls and Boys: Ooh, I wanna take you down to Kokomo
Boys: We’ll get there fast and then we’ll take it slow
Girls: That’s where we wanna go
Girls and Boys: Way down to Kokomo

I remember everyone giggling when we had to sing “perfect our chemistry”, yet no one giggled when we had to sing the words “afternoon delight.” Still too young to quite understand what those words implied. 

I can only imagine what was going through our parents heads while we performed this song. Classic. Let’s hope I have some of those embarrassing, profound parental moments with my own daughter when she’s in choir. 

