Ok, my second listy post for our lovely Ketchup ladies, Mel and Michele. Link up you Numbered Post too! Just put a number in your title and you’re good to go! Simply click on their names above and you’ll be taken right to their blogs where you can link up your post. Just look for Ketchup With Us!

So since I had to go to the doctor’s this past Monday for my ever so dreaded fertility clinic visit, I thought I would list my top 5 reasons why I truly despise going to the doctor and in this case, the fertility doctor.

1. Anxiety

Even though I went through this over 5 years ago with my now 4 1/2 year old, it doesn’t make the process any easier. I don’t want to go, I don’t want to go through all the tests and ultrasounds and expensive office visits (which will bring me to the next number). I DO, however, want another child. In fact, Em is asking for a sibling. She said, and I quote, “I’m tired of being the only one.” Too adorable, right? She’d make an awesome big sis! People at her preschool were calling her “The Baby Whisperer” and “Little Mama” because of how she acts towards the littler ones there. 

2. Needing a Money Tree 

The cost of infertility isn’t just draining emotionally, it also drains your pockets. I feel it is ridiculous that most insurance companies won’t cover the cost of fertility treatments, but they do completely cover the cost of other treatments and surgeries that are completely a person’s choice. I didn’t choose to have a body that wasn’t able to reproduce on its own. I’ve known this was going to be an issue since I was about 14 years old. I don’t feel that my choice to have another child should largely rely on whether or not we can swing treatments. Having a family is expensive on its own.

3. The Waiting

This includes the waiting after treatments were done to see if they actually worked or if you have to go through it again AND just the general waiting in the office. When I went Monday for the consultation, my appointment was at 10am. I wasn’t seen by the doctor until 10:40am. Come to find out the person that was scheduled before me at 9am didn’t show up until 9:40. Really? You are 40 minutes late! You suck! 

4. Seeing the Vampires

This is metaphorical for phlebotomist. Do you have any idea how much blood these people have to take? It doesn’t help that I am terrified of needles. My veins hide, they are small, they roll and I stop bleeding after a few tubes. Thankfully I don’t pass out, but I have to psych myself up to go. Speaking of going, I was SUPPOSE to go Tuesday morning. Oops…see, I need to psych myself up for it. Friday morning should be plenty of time for this.

5. Having to Go Alone

Since this is our 2nd time around, most of the appointments I have to go alone. Hubby can’t really take the time off work since he is the only one working right now. I just don’t like sitting there alone in the waiting room and then going to all the appointments and testing and ultrasounds by myself. It stinks, but has to be done.

 

And there you have it, my second numbered post for Ketchup! Don’t forget to link up your post too!

 

 

