I am a self proclaimed Disney buff. I have been since I was a child. I get this from my mom. Her house at Christmas is decorated with nothing but Disney, complete with wooden cutout scenes in her front yard. (All drawn and hand painted.) My daughter’s room, as a baby, was all the classic Winnie the Pooh characters and now it is the Disney Fairies that adorn her walls. It’s not just Disney that I enjoy. If the cartoon is funny and has some thought behind it, I’ll sit down and watch it. Now that I have a daughter, I watch my fair share of cartoon movies, ALL THE TIME! Some great, some not so great. Here are the movies that I would watch with or with out my child. 

 

1. The Reluctant Dragon

 The Reluctant Dragon

How many of y’all remember this classic? I loved this as a kid! The dragon was adorable and oh so funny and when I found this on DVD I was ecstatic! My daughter doesn’t quite appreciate it just yet. It moves too slow for her I think, but whether she likes it or not, I’ll sit down and still watch it.

2. The Sword and the Stone

Sword in the Stone

This and Robin Hood has always been my favorite movies by Disney. The grumpy owl, the crazy witch and kooky Merlin are some of the best Disney characters. The story line had heart and imagination. Thankfully my daughter enjoys this movie as well!

3. How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Grinch

Christmas isn’t Christmas in this household until we have watched this classic (and have read it on Christmas Eve). This grumpy old Grinch who’s heart was 3 sizes too small is one of the best Christmas stories. I’d much rather watch this for 24 hours than A Christmas Story, even though I do love that movie as well, I just can’t take it for 24 hours like TBS likes to air it.

4. Shrek (the original)

Shrek

Although TV seems to out due the number of times you can watch a movie, I have to admit this one still makes me laugh. What isn’t funny about slightly off color jokes (that adults are the only ones that will get) and farts? Has anyone seen Shrek the Musical? Check it out on Netflix right now, my daughter LOVES it and it is pretty funny and creative.

5. The Emperor’s New Groove

The Emperor's New Groove

David Spade as a llama? Genius! It’s a pairing like peanut butter and jelly, it just works. This movie makes me laugh and I will quote it relentlessly! “Llama Face!” I also LOVE Kronk! He did teach me how to speak squirrel. Squek squekity squekin!

6. Rise of the Guardians

Rise of the Guardians

I have to say, I do love this movie. If you haven’t seen it yet it is really worth watching. My daughter goes back and forth between this and Frozen. The book series is also a great read for little ones. It shows kids that the Easter Bunny, Santa Claus, The Sandman and the Tooth Fairy aren’t just there to provide them with presents and pleasant dreams, they are there to watch over and protect them. The story behind Jack Frost and being able to watch him go through his journey of self discovery is sweet and heart warming. Everyone has a center, what’s yours? I love this idea and a great way for kids to look deeper within themselves.

7. Frozen

Frozen

Speaking of Frozen, you had to see this one coming seeing that I am a big Disney fan. I loved the overall story-line of this, and yes, I know it’s a slight take on Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Snow Queen” (I am Danish), but I really liked how the act of true love was the love between sisters. It’s nice to see that a girl didn’t have to rely on a man to save her. And Olaf and Sven, completely stole the movie. These two served as a great comedic relief. Of course my daughter loved this movie and HAD to have an Elsa doll, her new favorite Disney “princess”. Word of advise, don’t plan on meeting them at Disneyland or Disneyworld unless you are prepared to wait a really really really (like 4 hours once the park OPENS) long time. 

8. The Lego Movie

Lego

You know, the Lego movies and episodes on Netflix really do make me giggle. And all I really have to say about this is yes, “Everything is Awesome!”

9. Despicable Me and Despicable Me 

Despicable Me

Who doesn’t love those cute little minions. They are hilarious! The movie is really cute and funny. I’m also a big fan of Steve Carell. That man cracks me up like no other. I will watch anything with him in it.

10. Finding Nemo

Finding-Nemo-still

I adore this movie and no matter how many times it is on TV, I will always stop to watch it. I saw this in the movie theaters with my best friend when it first came out. The beginning always made me tear up (I’m sensitive), but now that I have a kid it still makes me sad, although in a different way. I’ll still tear up, but I can fully understand how Marlin feels and why he becomes so overbearing and protective. In some ways, I’m like that with my daughter. She is the absolute world to me and I will do everything I can to protect her. And as my daughter gets older I can relate more to Marlin’s journey and his realization that he needs to let Nemo do things on his own. Like Dory says when Marlin says he promised Nemo that nothing would ever happen to him, “Well, you can’t never let anything happen to him. Then, nothing would ever happen to him. Not much fun for little Harpo.” Such a wise, blue fish.

20140601-155205-57125420

This post was written for Mel @ According to Mags and Michele @ Old Dog New Tits, the Ketchup With Us ladies. Want to join in on the Blog By Numbers Challenge? Just put a Number in the title of your post and link it up to these lovely ladies or tweet them and let them know!

Twitter:

@accordingtomags and @olddognewtits

