I bet you are all singing the “Do You Want to Build a Snowman?” song now, aren’t you? I am right now in fact, as I type this.

Fairly recently, my dad, mom and I constructed an 8ft. x 8ft. playhouse in my backyard for my four year old daughter. Growing up, my dad built a playhouse for my brother and I in our backyard. I loved that house. It was my own little getaway in a sense. Now that I have a daughter of my own, I wanted her to have that same type of wonderful experience. Luckily, my dad had A LOT of scrap pieces left from a project he had done a while back, so much so, that it pretty much built the entire playhouse! (I got extremely luck! Lumber is far from cheap!)

Not only was I excited to build something that my daughter will use for many years to come, I was also looking forward to learning something new and spending time with my dad. My dad and I haven’t always had the, what most like to think, typical daddy/daughter relationship. We never really talked a whole lot, didn’t spend a lot of time together and I wasn’t a daddy’s girl. Growing up, most of the time, I kind of felt as if I was just in the way. My younger brother and my dad bonded really well and always have tons to talk about. I’ve always been a little jealous of their relationship. So when this opportunity came up to really learn some new skills from my dad and work side-by-side with him, I became really anxious and excited.

My dad isn’t usually a patient man and is definitely not the easiest person to work on projects with. He has a short temper when building, making or fixing anything. This time, however, he was patient with me and took the time to show me how to do stuff, which isn’t the norm for him.

I have to say, I learned A LOT! From framing, to putting up a wall, to roofing, to window installation to flooring. You name it, I can pretty much do it now. It wasn’t an easy task and this thing takes up a majority of my top lawn (plus side, less mowing), but I learned some new skills, (I can work power tools now! Be afraid people.) got to spend some quality time with my dad and have a very excited and happy four year old. I also took pics from beginning to end. Enjoy.

Do you want to build a playhouse?

20140623_104818

Come on let’s go and build.

20140624_143643

It takes a lot of wood and tools

20140625_130336

I’m not sure of the rules

20140626_133540

After this I will be skilled!

20140705_202028

I get to spend time with my daddy

20140707_104207

It’s just me and him

20140708_144724

Building this thing from scraps

20140710_154900

Do you want to build a playhouse?

20140712_150614

Hope it ends up looking like a playhouse

20140716_162004

Done! Now I nap.

20140717_094705

Hmm…not the best ending, but nothing rhymes with “scraps”. AND…you are now singing the song! You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

