Robin_Williams-Esquire

Celebrity deaths don’t usually strike me as hard as the most recent one has. Any loss of life is tragic, but for some reason, Robin William’s death has struck a chord in my heart.

Maybe it’s because he is my mom’s age; maybe it’s because, in my own family, depression has dealt a huge role in family members lives and I have seen first hand how strong it can take a hold of individuals. Also, maybe, it’s because yesterday, a small light of my own childhood dimmed. For any reason, he will be missed by many. He left a sheer genius legacy, which no one will ever be able to fill.

He lives around my area and he use to come into my town regularly for biking gear. I never met the man, although I wish I had. I saw a glimpse of him in Reno, Nevada while he was filming the movie Father’s Day with Billy Crystal. He seemed to love people, always interacted with them and that “stand-up” side always seemed to be on. 

I remember, back in 1989, my aunt (who suffered from her own demons of depression) was watching my younger brother and I while my mom went with my Nanie to visit my Papa in the hospital. It was late, I didn’t want to sleep, and she was had brought over a VHS tape to watch of Robin William’s stand-up, A Night at the Met, that she had recorded off of HBO. I was only 9 at the time, a little young to be watching that kind of stand-up, but in all honesty, I didn’t get the jokes. I just remember him, all that energy. Bouncing from one end of the stage to the other. Never stopping. His comedy wasn’t just funny, it was much more than that. There was always a spot in his show where he would speak such profound words, something that you could relate to, something that made you think.

To honor this spectacular human being, I just wanted to share some of my favorite movies and quotes from him. 

Popeye - 2

Popeye

tumblr_luqv58l1v21r6a2bio1_500

Aladdin (Probably my all time favorite Disney character)

Good-Morning-Vietnam-robin-williams-33200351-2101-2822

Good Morning, Vietnam (Pretty much a one man 2 hour movie. Brilliant!)

image10

Hook (Who could have dawned a better Peter Pan?)

maxresdefault

What Dreams May Come (still gets me to this day)

Birdcage

The Birdcage

robin_williams

Patch Adams

bf07db6e45549504e8e6fb34bd80ba64

Dead Poets Society (my favorite movie)

tumblr_mxbe4jAR0z1rgf9mgo1_1280

Mork and Mindy

robin-williams-quotes-12

inspired-by-an-asksite-response-heres-my-new-favorite-from-robin-williams

292304_10151235635703356_1185720136_n

So thank you, sir, for sharing that little spark of madness inside with all of us. 

You will be greatly missed. May you find whatever peace you were seeking that you could not find here on earth. Nanoo nanoo, dear sir.

robin-williams-dead-sesame-street

If you or someone you know is struggling with depression, please know it is okay to talk. Speak with your family, speak with your friends. It’s a silent demon that does not go away on it’s own.

1-800-273-TALK (8255)

