This time of year is especially hard for me. Actually, it starts the end of September, fades, then comes back at the end of October. I’ve written a few times before about her on this blog. She was a HUGE influence on me, one of my biggest supporters and most of all, a second mother figure in my life. She was my Nanie.

Yesterday would have been her 89th birthday. I can hear her now, “Don’t you be telling people my age!” She was stubborn, caring, spoke her mind and even when it was 50 degrees outside, you could catch her in her jean shorts and canvas shoes. If she had her way she would be wearing those flip flops instead of the canvas. Her idea of a jacket was a short sleeved, button up shirt over her t-shirt. This would piss my mom off every time! 

She never got her driver’s license; she walked bare foot around the house and she was the most amazing cook. She made most everything from scratch and I can accredit her for most of my cooking knowledge. She taught me how to clean out a turkey for Thanksgiving. I can still, to this day, hear her laughing her infectious laugh as I stood there gagging with my hand up a turkey’s behind. Disgusting and could be the reason why I don’t really eat the turkey during the holiday festivities. It became to personal for me. She could also roll out pie crust perfectly AND get it into the pie dish flawlessly. I still can’t do this. I end up piecing it together in the dish.

I wish, more than anything, my daughter could have met her. My Nanie passed almost exactly 3 years before she was born. What’s funny is that my daughter posses a lot of my Nanie’s quirkiness.

My daughter is gullible, just like my Nanie. She hates socks and shoes. She attempts to wear a skirt when it’s 50 degrees outside. Getting a jacket on her most of the time is like pulling teeth. Speaks her mind. She is stubborn, but she also has a huge heart.

Years before she passed, my Nanie quilted a baby blanket and gave it to me. When asked why she was making a baby blanket now, her reply was, “If I’m not around, I want your child to have something from her great grandmother.” This blanket was the blanket my daughter came home from the hospital in and has been safely tucked away in my daughter’s closet since. I couldn’t bare for it to get ruined or stained, so it stays in a safe place. I have shown my daughter the blanket, a few months ago actually, and told her the story behind it. She felt special that someone she had never met loved her so much.

So, Nanie, it may have been 8 years since I’ve last seen you, but honestly there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about you. And I know is some way, you are watching over my daughter. It’s comforting to know that she has her own special guardian angel to keep her safe. I love you so very much. 

Nanie & Judy 001

Nanie 03 001

