We all say we will NEVER do it, but honestly, it’s inevitable. Whether we like it or not, we all turn into our parents one way or another. I remember specifically telling myself, “I won’t be as strict as my mom.” Hahahaha…my poor kid. You are screwed child! Not to say I had a bad childhood, I didn’t. My mom was just a little overbearing, okay actually a lot overbearing, but what I didn’t understand then was why. Now that I have a child of my own, I totally get it! The world is a scary ass place! There are lots of crazies out there. Thank goodness I have a husband that is so completely laid back, that it balances out my over-protectiveness. That balance, however, doesn’t make up for the rest of my ever growing transformation into my mother. Below are five characteristics I have noticed thus far and I’m sure more will come as my daughter gets older.Duh-dun-dun!!!!!!!

1. Over protective doesn’t even begin to describe it!

daughter_of_overprotective_mother_black_text_decoration-r19832a87a3aa4058963caab31e0e1a84_x7s2y_8byvr_324

My mother was extremely over protective. Man, the stories I could tell! I swore, before I had a kid, that I would NEVER be as protective as her. Notice I said “before I had a kid”. Now that I have my daughter, I totally see the world in a different way. It’s hard for me to judge now as to what degree I am like my mom, but come back and ask me in 8 years. I’m sure I will have a more definitive answer for you then.

2. The mom-isms that come flying out of my mouth.

momisms

The first time I heard myself say the words, “Because I’m the mom and I said so!” I immediately threw my hand over my mouth. What was this I had just said? Holy crud, did my mom just come out? Yes, yes it did. In fact, I’ve lost count as to how many sayings I say in a day that my mom use to say to my brother and I. It’s terrifying, actually. At least I don’t say “worsh” like she does, in my house it’s pronounced “wash”.

3. I am now a self proclaimed germ-a-phobe!

keep calm

Yep, not totally proud of this fact. With how often my kid gets sick, and in turn I get sick, you would think it wouldn’t matter anymore. But oh it does! I am equipped with Wet Ones and sanitizer. I can clean those hands in 1.2 seconds flat when need be. It’s a sad truth, but I have learned to accept it.

4. I’m an over worrier.

me-worry

I guess this goes without saying considering #1 and #3. I stress about everything. My mind is constantly ticking about the what if’s and the need to do’s. I am EXACTLY like my mother in this way. She even comments on this fact from time to time.

5. Taking care of my family will always come first.

11050118_10206110364455390_3590146719279093855_n

My mom is a selfless woman. She did everything she possibly could to take care of my brother and I, even when we didn’t have much. She was a stay-at-home mom for most of my childhood, until about middle school. My dad owned an auto-parts store in our home town and she did the books and delivered parts when she could. When the business went abruptly under, she never let us know how bad things really were. Now that I’m older and know how close we were to losing our home, how that woman held it together amazes me. The most important thing to her was taking care of her babies and making sure they had everything they needed. Times are tough and I get that need to make sure my child is taken care of. You sacrifice things for yourself to ensure your child is fed, clothed and cared for. My child is everything to me and I will do everything I can to make sure she has what she needs.

So to my 5 year old daughter, I apologize for half of this list. I will always worry, I will always be over protective, but I will always love you. Just wait until you have a child of your own (although I don’t even want to think about THAT right now), you will be the same, if not worse than your mother. 

This post was written in response to Mama Kat’s Losing It writing prompt: In what ways are you turning into your mother?

